The way we work

Scottish PEN is governed by a board which meets roughly every six weeks. Find out more about our trustees and their roles.

Board. Scottish PEN is governed by a board which meets roughly every six weeks. The board plans campaigns and programmes of events. It is currently composed of:

Carl MacDougall, President

Fiona Graham, Vice-President

Jenni Calder, Membership Secretary

David Manderson, Secretary

Drew Campbell

Mario Relich

Bashabi Fraser

Gerard Carruthers

Jane Archer

Joyce Caplan

Emma Doherty

Andrew Tickell

Ricky Monahan Brown

Colin Donati

Rebecca Sharp

There are currently vacancies for the board, and we would be pleased to hear from you if you would be interested in participating. If you would like to join one of the sub-committees (Women Writers, Writers at Risk, Writers in Exile and Writers for Peace) please do get in touch as well – we would love to have you on board.

Staff. Since Scottish PEN’s foundation in 1927 almost all the work of Scottish PEN has been carried out by volunteers. Thanks to recently successful bids for funding we are now able to employ a team of five members of part-time staff. You can contact the Scottish PEN office in Edinburgh at